Disney+ Reveals Marvel Chronological Watch Order Featuring 33 Movies, Shows & Shorts

By Lauren Rouse Posted:
Marvel Studios Timeline with Captain America Iron Man Thanos

The Marvel Cinematic Universe has continued to expand with new films and television series since it began with Iron Man in 2008. Fast forward 14 years and there are now dozens of different projects set within the MCU. As many know, Marvel Studios often does not release its titles chronologically, which can make watching things in timeline order quite complicated. 

Since Disney+ launched, its Marvel hub has been useful for keeping track of the different watch orders for the MCU. One, in particular, that is popular is the MCU timeline, which helps subscribers watch all of Marvel's projects in chronological order. This timeline is consistently updated with new releases, the latest being Hawkeye, which has established itself as the last title in the MCU chronologically.

Just recently, Disney+ added five new Marvel One-Shots to the service. Some of these short outings, like The Consultant and All Hail The King, help to fill in some gaps in Marvel's timeline, while others, like Team Thor, are simply there for fun.

To celebrate the addition of these one-shots to the streaming service, Disney+ has refreshed its MCU timeline once again, bringing the count up to 33 different projects.

How to Watch Marvel Movies In Chronological Order

The new Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline on Disney+ was updated to include Marvel's films, television series and One-Shot shorts. 

MCU timeline order Disney+ One-Shots
Marvel Studios

The new timeline order is as follows:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger
  2. Agent Carter
  3. Captain Marvel
  4. Iron Man
  5. Iron Man 2
  6. A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Thor's Hammer
  7. Thor
  8. The Consultant
  9. The Avengers
  10. Item 47
  11. Thor: The Dark World
  12. Iron Man 3
  13. All Hail The King
  14. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  15. Guardians of the Galaxy
  16. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  17. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  18. Ant-Man
  19. Captain America: Civil War
  20. Black Widow
  21. Black Panther
  22. Doctor Strange
  23. Thor: Ragnarok
  24. Ant-Man and The Wasp
  25. Avengers: Infinity War
  26. Avengers: Endgame
  27. Loki
  28. What If...?
  29. WandaVision
  30. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
  31. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  32. Eternals
  33. Hawkeye

Note that this timeline does not include The Incredible Hulk or Marvel's Spider-Man trilogy as they are not currently available on Disney+.

Marvel's Cinematic Timeline Continues to Expand

While Marvel continues to release its movies in phases, they are often not released in chronological order. Therefore, the MCU timeline order on Disney+ is a useful guide for any Marvel rewatch, particularly as more films and series are added each year.

What's interesting about this update is the official placement of Marvel's One-Shots. Marvel currently has eight one-shots on Disney+, but only Agent Carter, The Consultant, What Happened On The Way To Thor's Hammer, Item 47 and All Hail The King are listed in the MCU timeline. This supports the idea that the Team Thor and Team Darryl shorts exist outside the canon of the MCU.

The timeline order on Disney+ is constantly evolving. Marvel even recently adjusted a mistake that had Black Panther appearing before Black Widow in chronological order, showing just how meticulous Marvel Studios is about its timeline.

As Marvel continues to delve into more cosmic concepts like the Multiverse and time travel, it will be interesting to see where future titles fit in the timeline.

Disney+ will also soon be home to the origin stories for new heroes like Moon Knight, Ms. Marvel and She-Hulk, but it's yet to be seen where these stories fit chronologically. Thankfully, the MCU timeline on Disney+ should remain a faithful guide as more projects are released. 

- About The Author: Lauren Rouse
Lauren Rouse has been a writer at The Direct since the site launched in 2020. She has a huge passion for everything pop culture and currently writes news articles for the Marvel, Star Wars, DC and video game branches.