Disney+ Goofs Up With Wrong Marvel Movie In New Hawkeye Collection

By Lauren Rouse Updated:
Hawkeyee, Disney Plus, Avengers

The final show Marvel fans have to look forward to on Disney+ this year is Hawkeye. The series, which stars Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton, takes place at Christmas and aptly debuts on November 24, just in time for the holiday season.

Hawkeye will introduce a number of new characters to the MCU, such as Hailee Steinfeld’s Kate Bishop, but it’s far from Renner’s first time in a Marvel movie. To prepare viewers for each of Marvel’s new projects, Disney+ has been creating curated MCU collections with films and series that are related to each new release.

Black Widow and Loki have both received such lists on Disney+ this year and in preparation for the release of Hawkeye, a new featured collection has appeared on the streaming service.

Incorrect Hawkeye Collection Appears on Disney+

Hawkeye Poster

As can be seen in the images below, a new curation known as the ‘Hawkeye Collection’ has appeared on Disney+.

Hawkeye Collection Disney+

The collection has been made available to coincide with Hawkeye's double episode premiere on November 24. Viewers can add the upcoming title to their watchlist now.

Hawkeye Collection Disney+

It appears Disney has made a mistake with the Hawkeye collection as one of the seven titles that were listed is Thor: The Dark World, which Jeremy Renner does not appear in. Renner made his first appearance as Hawkeye in Thor, but instead, it seems the sequel was mistakenly listed on Disney+.

Hawkeye Collection Disney+ titles

The other titles included in the Hawkeye collection are:

  • The Avengers
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • What If…?
  • Marvel Studios: Legends.

Hawkeye Collection Makes A Mistake Fans Won't Miss

While Thor: The Dark World’s listing in the Hawkeye collection is clearly a simple mistake by Disney, it’s one that Marvel fans won’t miss. At the time of writing this mistake appears to have been rectified by Disney and the correct Thor title is now listed.

As the multiple titles in the Hawkeye Collection make clear, Jeremy Renner has had quite the history in the MCU. Given that Hawkeye takes place after Avengers: Endgame and features the return of Clint Barton’s family, it’s not a bad idea for fans or newcomers to brush up on their Hawkeye history with the titles in this collection.

Interestingly, Black Widow is not listed in Disney+’s Hawkeye list. While the film doesn’t explicitly feature Hawkeye himself, it’s still a good title to get acquainted with before watching the Disney+ series. Natasha Romanoff’s solo film answered a lot of questions about her backstory, a lot of which are tied directly to Clint Barton. More importantly, Black Widow introduced Florence Pugh’s Yelena Belova, who will reportedly return in the upcoming Hawkeye series, but it seems Disney+ wants to keep this reveal a surprise for now.

Hawkeye premieres on November 24 on Disney+.

- About The Author: Lauren Rouse
Lauren Rouse has been a writer at The Direct since the site launched in 2020. She has a huge passion for everything pop culture and currently writes news articles for the Marvel, Star Wars, DC and video game branches.