God of War's Original Trilogy Story Will Continue In New Comic Series

By Sam Hargrave Posted:
God of War Fallen God

The Santa Monica's God of War franchise has grown into one of the most beloved PlayStation exclusive franchises over recent years.

The original trilogy of games was released from 2005 to 2010 with a recent soft reboot, simply titled God of War, releasing in 2018 to great critical acclaim, taking a significant time jump for the main god-killing character of Kratos to a point where he has a son.

For some time, the time gap between the original trilogy and the recent sequel has remained unexplored. With a sequel on the way in 2021, God of War: Ragnarök fans are hungry for more from the world, and a new comic release seems to be offering just that.


While the time gap between the third and fourth installments in the franchise leaves plenty of unanswered questions, Dark Horse comics are ready to provide some answers through their new comic series titled God of War: Fallen God .

The upcoming series will be written by Chris Roberson — who is credited with writing previous comic book stories in the God of War universe - and will begin with its first issue releasing on March 10. Roberson will be joined on Fallen God by artist Tony Parker, letterer John Roshell, and colorist Dan Jackson. The cover of the first issue is designed by Dave Rapoza.

God of War: Fallen God Cover
From Dark Horse comics

The synopsis for the first issue, released by the publisher, reads:

Can a man ever be free of his past? Can the tides of time ever wash away the bloody sands of sin? Or do transpired trespasses permanently and inescapably stain one's soul?

After conquering Zeus and thwarting Athena, Kratos believes himself to be finally free from his bondage. He sets sail for the desert in an attempt to distance himself from his home and his shame only to find his rage and guilt follow close behind. Kratos rages against the one foe that has proven to be unconquerable--himself. But a war against oneself is unwinnable, and only invites madness.


The beginning of a new series set in the biggest gap in the God of War storyline is something that is sure to delight fans of the franchise who have long hungered for new Kratos stories in the era. While the comic will take place between God of War III (2010) and God of War (2018), the Kratos shown in the cover art is clearly a younger version of the character than is shown in the 2018 title, suggesting the story will take place at an earlier point in the gap as a sequel to the third installment.

The series writer, Chris Roberson, has previously written the 2018 comic series, God of War , which was released alongside the newest game in the franchise. This told another new story within the world, again in the gap between the third and fourth games.

The series was regarded relatively highly by fans, which does bode well for Roberson's second stab into the God of War mythology.

God of War: Fallen God #1 hits comic stands March 10, while the upcoming fifth title in the game franchise, God of War: Ragnarök , will release on PS5 at some point in 2021.

- About The Author: Sam Hargrave
Sam Hargrave is the Associate Editor at The Direct. He joined the team as a gaming writer in 2020 before later expanding into writing for all areas of The Direct and taking on further responsibilities such as editorial tasks and image creation.